Share the Music!

Album Notes
This album is dedicated to the island I call Deerfield Cay and the great people who cherish her. I fell in love with this place many years ago and wrote all of these songs in and around these beautiful beaches. – Track 1 – Deerfield Cay – It’s the barrier island extending from the lighthouse at Hillsboro Inlet north to the Boca Raton Inlet. When you come over the Hillsboro Bridge from the mainland you can feel your worries melt away. There are no “big shots” here and no-one judges another for their possessions. – Track 2 – Freedom Ride – The ocean is alive with every energy within it and is in constant flux with the gravitational energy of every heavenly body everywhere. It’s healing power is yet untold. Freedom ride was written for Surfer’s For Autism helping autistic children therapeutically by putting them on a surfboard. I was so amazed to see these children lose their symptoms while surfing that I had to write a song for the amazing parents, surfers and volunteers, ( who I call angels,) making this possible. – Track 3 – Silly Stupid Humans – Did you ever wonder what God, Moses, Jesus or Mohammed might say if they came to you in a dream? This song shreds the mask of absurdities the way only pure sarcasm can. It’s not meant to offend; just to reveal and after all… it’s only a dream… – Track 4 – Just How It Feels – Life on the water is a beautiful thing, especially when you have someone special to appreciate it with. Days on the water have been some of the most precious moments I have spent in my life. To feel the heave of the Gulfstream with no land in sight or to witness the stars on a clear night unobstructed by man-made light with someone special is beyond compare and I wish it for everyone. – Track 5 – Nobuddy Famous funk Jam – No matter what kind of day You had, Jim Murphy and the boys can cheer you up. This song was written for the band and the fans that make it all happen. Jammin’ by the ocean is our favorite gig and it doesn’t take much to spark a party on the Cay! – Track 6 – You Think Too Much – So often we are overwhelmed by the illusions of need thrust upon us by others who confuse need with greed. Our true needs are but few. We can count our true physical needs on one hand and our spiritual and emotional needs on the other. If our needs number more than 10 we can credit the remainder for the stress in our lives. To have enough is to be truly rich; to need more than enough is simply a contradiction. – Track 7 – Girls Want Money – A satirical commentary on the token economy often substituted for love during courtships and marriages whereby a money giver subjugates another for greed and ego while the other abandons morality for the want of things they do not need to feed their greed and ego. It’s really a set of business transactions, but maybe that’s why we call it a marriage contract! – Track 8 – Falseness – If we kill do we not steal life? If we steal do we not lie of ownership? If we lie do we not steal truth? Isn’t the prime root of all of sin “Falseness?” Isn’t the prime root of all goodness “Truth?” If one lies; do they not simply create the truth that they are attempting to be false? Must we judge our own sin by the edited words of humans long past while our creator’s original manuscript is scribed in every heart? – Track 9 – If You Were My Girl – The days on Deerfield Cay are beautiful but with the pier lit up and the warm salty southeast wind blowing through moonlit palms; the nights are equally so. I can’t tell you anymore about this song except that it was one of those nights.
Credits: This album was made possible by these individuals who gave of their time and talents free of charge that others might benefit. T. Root – Audio Engineer Buddy Sparrow – Lead Vox, Songwriter, Acoustic Guitar Jim Murphy – Bass Harmony Vox – Jennifer Troyan, Brenda Taylor, Rachel Castaldi, Vanessa Fernandez, Electric Guitars – Steve Takimoto, Jeff Hofelson, Dan Glenn Murray Caplinger – Bass (Just How It Feels) Front Album Photo – Ben Hicks


Say Something About this Album